Local Authority Research Link (LARK)

The aim of a Local Authority Research linK (LARK) is to support an on-going, two-way communication exchange between different parts of the National Institute for Health Research infrastructure and PaRC academics. There is a LARK for every Local Authority in the Yorkshire and Humber region

The knowledge exchange network of LARKs with their academic partners will:

  • Increase access to training and continuing professional development
  • Increased access to evidence based resources to inform practice
  • Increase involvement in projects that could have an impact on the health and well-being of local populations
  • Support access to grant and research income into the LA
  • Have a say in what and how research gets conducted in the region
  • Will be the main point of contact within the LA in which they are based and NIHR infrastructure.
  • Advocate and contribute to raising the research profile and widening ongoing engagement across Local Authorities
  • Support appropriate engagement in research and research implementation activity that is relevant and useful to their organisation
  • Support coordination of research priority setting activity
  • Disseminate research findings, learning events, and actionable tools within their organisation
  • Co-ordinate feedback on the usefulness of learning events, actionable tools and other implementation activities
  • Identify key participants for engagement in research and implementation projects
  • Support the coordination of research activities and share good practice
  • Additionally, some LARKs are acting as a ‘research champion’ in their Local Authority, and are working with the Yorkshire and Humber Applied Research Collaborative to build research strategy for their organisation. 
 The contact details for the Yorkshire and Humber Local Authority Research linK (LARK) are:

Area 

LARK contact

Email 

Sheffield 

Magda Boo

Debbie Hanson

Magda.Boo@sheffield.gov.uk

Debbie.hanson@sheffield.gov.uk

North Lincolnshire

TBC

TBC

East Riding 

Ester Hall 

Lauran Powell

Esther.Hall@eastriding.gov.uk

Lauren.Powell@eastriding.gov.uk

Bradford

TBC

TBC

Calderdale

Caron Walker

Caron.Walker@calderdale.gov.uk

North Yorkshire

Natalie Smith

Natalie.Smith@northyorks.gov.uk

Rotherham

Nick Leigh-Hunt

Nicholas.Leigh-Hunt@rotherham.gov.uk

Doncaster

Susan Hampshaw

Susan.hampshaw@doncaster.gov.uk

Barnsley 

Rebecca Clarke

RebeccaClarke@barnsley.gov.uk

Wakefield 

Shane Mullen

SMullen@wakefield.gov.uk

Hull 

Des Cooper

Des.Cooper@hullcc.gov.uk

NElincs 

Shola Bolaji

Shola.Bolaji@nelincs.gov.uk

York 

Nick Sinclair

Jenny Saunders

nick.sinclair@york.gov.uk

Jennifer.Saunders@york.gov.uk

Leeds

Frank Wood

Ali Phiri

Frank.Wood@leeds.gov.uk

alison.phiri@nhs.net

Kirklees

Owen Richardson

owen.richardson@kirklees.gov.uk

 

News

New Infographic – The Yorkshire Health Study Dataset

New Infographic – The Yorkshire Health Study Dataset

We have been working with Nifty Fox Creative to produce an infographic from the Yorkshire Health Study dataset. The YHS was a work stream of the Public Health and Inequalities Theme of the NIHR CLAHRC YH. Although the study is currently closed to recruitment, it...

Blog

From CLAHRC to PaRC my journey so far

From CLAHRC to PaRC my journey so far

Dr Annette Haywood, Manager Public Health Practice and Research Collaborative (PaRC) YH I completed a BSc in Psychology from SHU in 1997, graduating with a 2:1 and hold a PhD from the University of Sheffield. My thesis explored whether there was evidence of an...